Quantcast The Brokenhearted by Amelia Kahaney
HarperTeen — Your World. Your Books.
About The Book
Pinit    

The Brokenhearted


 On Sale: 10/8/2013
 Formats:     Hardcover | Paperback | eBook
Single-Click Shopping:
Select Booksellers


Perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer's The Lunar Chronicles and Marie Lu's Legend series, Amelia Kahaney's The Brokenhearted is a gorgeous, gritty, and imaginative take on the superhero story. Anthem Fleet, talented ballerina and heir to the Fleet fortune, has always been closely guarded by her parents in their penthouse apartment. Lured by the handsome and dangerous Gavin, Anthem is drawn into the dark and exhilarating world on the wrong side of town. But when the couple runs into trouble, Gavin goes missing and Anthem winds up dead . . . only to awaken in an underground lab with a bionic heart ticking in her chest. Now she can run faster, jump higher, fight better. But the only thing that matters to her is getting Gavin back. And when she uncovers the sinister truth behind those she trusted the most, she is determined to use her newfound powers for the ultimate revenge.

Set in the ruined fictional landscape of Bedlam, a Gotham-like city, this tale of heartbreak and revenge is both gripping and cinematic.

Book Description

Some kinds of Heartbreak aren't temporary.

High in her tower above Bedlam City, prima ballerina Anthem Fleet has lived her whole life by her parents' strict rules, never leaving the sparkling, pristine North Side. Until she meets Gavin. An artist from the dangerous South Side of town, Gavin is like no one Anthem has ever met—and she falls for him suddenly and completely.

But Gavin's world is as dangerous as it is intoxicating, and their romance crashes down around them one terrible night when they are attacked on the South Side and Gavin is kidnapped. When she wakes in a dark, blood-soaked lab, Anthem has a jagged scar down her chest . . . and an experimental bionic heart ticking inside her.

As Anthem will soon realize, her new mechanical heart didn't just save her life—it left her with a strange and terrifying new strength. A strength that she's going to need if she has any chance of rescuing Gavin and mending the scattered pieces of her broken heart.


Author Extras

Critical Praise for The Brokenhearted

“Gorgeously written and richly imagined, this heart–pounding, high–octane novel of suspense, romance, and revenge introduces a stunning new voice in YA fiction as well as a new kind of superhero. You won’t be able to put this one down.”
— NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author Aimee Friedman

ISBN: 9780062230928; ISBN10: 0062230921; Imprint: HarperTeen ; On Sale: 10/8/2013; Format: Hardcover; Trimsize: 5 1/2 x 8 1/4; Pages: 352; $17.99; Ages: 13 and Up; BISAC1:JUV026000; BISAC2:JUV001000; BISAC3:JUV039020

Books by Amelia Kahaney
The Invisible Unabridged The Invisible Unabridged
The Invisible The Invisible

YOU ARE WATCHING:
Dark Days Fall 2013 – The Brokenhearted
Related Link
· Dark Days Fall 2013 – The Brokenhearted
· THE BROKENHEARTED Trailer - Amelia Kahaney





What's Hot